Life in graduate school

Well, I’ve just finished my second week of grad school. The verdict? I don’t have one yet. Haha. I’m only taking 2 classes this semester: MS 210 (Physical Oceanography, under Dr. Laura David) and MS 220 (Chemical Oceanography, under Dr. Malou San Diego-McGlone). As it’s the first two weeks, I haven’t had trouble keeping up with the coursework, as MS 210 is starting off with stuff I’m already familiar with and MS 220 with a review of analytical chemistry. I don’t think that will last though. Hahaha.

Last Monday, I attended a seminar where professors from the Academia Sinica in Taiwan and MSI presented research results. Have to admit that I couldn’t understand most of the speakers as 1)  they spoke in heavily accented English, and 2) they used a lot of terminology that one-week-in-grad-school brain didn’t know yet. Sigh. They did a pitch for the Taiwan International Graduate Program though: their course offerings, professors, campus, scholarship opportunities. Their campus and labs are amazing. Dr. George T. F. Wong even said that they had trouble thinking of lab equipment to buy for next year (he was smiling when he said it but I doubt he was joking). Syet. If only UP had that problem… Their program looks really really good but our interests don’t mesh. Haha. Better luck next time.

The Philippine Association of Meteorologists is holding a two-day seminar on November 27-28 in PhiVolcs and they’ll be talking about climate change. Aha! One of today’s hot issues. Dr. David is requiring us to attend but I think I would have attended anyway. Hehe. More knowledge is always good 🙂

Leave a comment